Android OS Forum banner

"Factory" images for unrooting and locking an IMM76Q phone

7K views 30 replies 15 participants last post by  uh-oh 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I received a replacement phone with the IMM76Q build. Since the toolkit is not released, on XDA I found this zip to get my phone back to IMM76Q, but I need to un root and re-lock without going back to IMM76K.
http://www.randompha...axy-nexus/i515/ (http://forum.xda-dev...=1754494&page=5)

What can I do in the change the ICL53F image files currently in circulation for all the Toro "Unroot and lock" guides so it is the way it came from the factory? Could a kind soul on here possibly get the toolkit changed? I'm sure this will be cropping up a lot in coming months.
Thank you for reading and possibly helping!

SOLUTION. I am not a professional, I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn last night, and what you do with your phone is your responsibility. This is only what I did.

Download the zip file from above or from the post on page 2.
Flash your factory images via your "return to stock" method of choice via fastboot or some toolkit. (I have done this only from bootloader.)
Now your phone is OEM stock software, unrooted, but still unlocked.

The IMM76Q zip can not be flashed in stock recovery. BUT, based upon past idiocy on my part, I remembered I could install a recovery and it wouldn't persist across a reboot.
From a stock, unlocked, unrooted phone in bootloader:
Flash TWRP since there is no superuser apk to get embedded in the system files.
Boot to recovery.
Flash zip in recovery.
Reboot system.
Reboot to bootloader.
Lock.
Reboot.
Then you can factory reset the phone and be on your way.

I think.

See less See more
#2 ·
You can go back to IMM76K and no one will ever know that you were on IMM76Q. As long as it's on some kind of stock ROM & locked, you'll be fine.

You really can't change an image to become IMM76Q. There is way too many changes to even think about it.

#3 ·