Rate this Topic

- - - - -

getting fastboot to work.

• Please log in to reply

OP awtenterprise

awtenterprise

• 63 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 10:07 AM #1

Here is the intro on my seup and problem.

New install of Ubuntu 12.04, android sdk installed.

From the root directory in terminal I can use adb and it works good.
For example, I can use {adb devices} or any other various commands and adb works.

When I use {fastboot devices} I get "fastboot: command not found"

The only way I can seem to get fastboot to work is to navigate to,

{adam@adam-mainframe:/usr/local/android-sdk/platform-tools$ sudo ./fastboot devices}

Now here is the question I have been searching for all morning, I am fairly new to ubuntu so please bear with me.

1. How do I get fastboot to run without the "sudo" comand, and having to enter my password?
2. Better yet, how do I get fastboot to work with a simple {fastboot flash.......} from the root directory, eleminating having to navigate to the folder housing fastboot, using sudo command, typing "./"

I have read all about creating system links, setting permissions, wiping everything and trying again......

Can anyone help?

AdamT.
  • 0 Likes

jellybellys

jellybellys

Android Guru

Posted 29 July 2012 - 12:02 PM #2

Add the following line to the bottom of ~/.bash_rc
export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/android-sdk/platform-tools

As for starting without sudo, make sure you have your udev rules set up properly.
  • 1 Likes

yarly

yarly

Just a noob that doesn't know what he's talking about

Posted 29 July 2012 - 12:58 PM #3

echo "export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/android-sdk/platform-tools" >> ~/.bashrc
source ~/.bashrc

Is the easiest way to do it. There is also no underscore in it.
  • 1 Likes

OP awtenterprise

awtenterprise

• 63 posts

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:34 PM #4