Rate this Topic

- - - - -

How To Root Stock

• Please log in to reply

OP KatsumeBlisk

KatsumeBlisk

Average Android

Posted 31 December 2011 - 12:03 AM #1

Now that it's possible to unlock the boot loader via HTC's site, how does one root the phone? I am new to HTC devices and I've only used scripts before.

I'm also correct in stating that I can just use ROM manager to flash CWR when it's rooted?
  • 0 Likes
Posted Image

phillyfisher

phillyfisher

Robot Ninja

Posted 31 December 2011 - 09:01 AM #2

After you unlock you can flash CWM recovery.. then flash SU.

I used this thread for guidance: http://forum.xda-dev....php?p=14947083
  • 0 Likes
Razr HD - Stock 4.2.1 (but rooted and unlocked!!!)
Gnex - 4.2.2 ROM of the week
Dinc2 - Miui
HP Touchpad - AOKP
Nook Color - ParanoidAndroid

msjohnson2868

msjohnson2868

Android Apprentice

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:49 PM #3

Does unlocking give the necessary S-off so this can be flashed? I have a friend that wants me to root his inc2 and wasn't sure how the recent unlockability from HTC affected the rooting processes.
Sent from my Transformer TF101 using RootzWiki
  • 0 Likes

JAS_21

JAS_21

Bad Influence

Posted 31 December 2011 - 06:24 PM #4

Does unlocking give the necessary S-off so this can be flashed? I have a friend that wants me to root his inc2 and wasn't sure how the recent unlockability from HTC affected the rooting processes.
Sent from my Transformer TF101 using RootzWiki

I recommend using the Revolutionary tool. You first would have to downgrade the bootloader from .98.

There's a tutorial on xda in the dev section. http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1298990

This gives you full s-off and root.

Edited by JAS_21, 31 December 2011 - 06:29 PM.

• 1 Likes

rabbitfoot

rabbitfoot

rabbYt droYd

Posted 02 January 2012 - 08:24 AM #5

I recommend using the Revolutionary tool. You first would have to downgrade the bootloader from .98.